Home > Uncategorized > Comments regarding the new SCMP.com mobile edition

Comments regarding the new SCMP.com mobile edition

September 22, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Being a long time reader of the South China Morning Post, I cannot wait to give SCMP my first hand comments regarding their new mobile app:

1. The ad banner is way too big. Will it still be there even if I subscribe to it?

2. Can I download it for offline viewing? The App seems to download the text for offline viewing automatically, but not the pictures, or not supported at all?

3. Flipping through articles by swiping the finger from right to left seems to be not very responsive. The previous iPad app allows me to do it much quicker.

4. Is it possible to see all the articles and their length at a glance? The new layout seems to display only the headline or the full article, which is not enough for me to scan through articles and find those I really want to read.

In general I’m disappointed at the new mobile app. If the subscription fee of the digital version is $20 per week, I have a much better reading experience with the paper edition, which is only $25 per week.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment